Can I Delete Default User Folder?

Can I delete default user?

If your user profile has got corrupted or if you need to reset it to default, then you can delete the profile without removing the account.

In the User Profiles window, select the profile of the user account and click the Delete button..

What happens when you delete a user account in Windows 10?

Note that deleting a user from your Windows 10 machine will permanently delete all of their associated data, documents, and more. If needed, ensure the user has a backup of any important files they want to keep before you delete.

What happens when you delete a user profile in Windows 10?

You are correct. Deleting a profile will also delete all user and program data and configuration/settings stored in the profile folder as well. Deleting a profile to reset it to default will essentially be the same as a new account’s profile.

How do I remove a shared folder from my computer?

Remove Shared Documents from My ComputerGo the the Start menu, and click on Run.Type gpedit.msc.Now go to User Configuration, Administrative Templates, Windows Components, and click on Windows Explorer.In here, you’ll see the option Remove Shared Documents from My Computer. Double click on that, tick Enabled, and click OK. And that’s all.

Can I delete users folder in C drive?

3 Answers. Yes, you can delete the left over user account folder and nothing will happen. Windows leaves it to protect the data of the old user. If you delete a user account from the control panel, it asks whether you want to keep the personal files of the user or not.

What is the purpose of the C :\ Users public folder?

The main use for this folder is to quickly share files and folders between user accounts on the same computer or with other computers and devices on the network. Using the Public folder is a matter of choice and personal style.

What happens if you delete user folder?

Deleting the user folder does not delete the user account, however; the next time the computer is rebooted and the user logs in, a new user folder will generate. Aside from allowing a user account to start over from scratch, deleting a profile folder can also assist you if the computer gets hit with malware.

Can I delete the public user folder?

Right-click on the Public folder and go to Properties. In the security tab, click Advanced. Go to the Owner tab and change ownership of folder to Administrator (or whoever you want). Once you have ownership, you can grant full control permissions for your user, then delete the public folder.

How do I delete user files?

On the “Choose the account you would like to change” screen, click the user account you want to get rid of. Next, click the “Delete the account” link. You are then given the option to either delete the user’s files or keep them.

How do I delete the default administrator account in Windows 10?

Way 2: Delete administrator account in Windows 10 Control PanelPress Win + X and choose Control Panel in pop-up menu to open Control Panel.Choose “User Accounts User Accounts Manage another account” in Control Panel.Click the administrator account you want to remove or delete in user list.More items…

Is it safe to delete defaultuser0?

Defaultuser0 is a system user profile used when Windows is setting up, before any user accounts have been created. … If the profile folder remains in Users folder, it’s safe to manually delete it. If you don’t need the user account, you can delete it.

How do I clear my user folder in Windows 10?

You can’t delete it like any folder, though. Instead, you’ll have to use Windows 10’s Disk Cleanup tool. To run it, type Disk Cleanup in the search bar, and then click the Disk Cleanup program entry that appears. Click “Clean up system files,” and the tool examines your system for files to clean.